NAGAR logo

Nagar Association of Greater American Regions (NAGAR)
Bringing Nagars across the world together since 1998

(Incorporated since 1998, Illinois, USA)
(Non Profit-Section 501(c)3; Public Charity-Section 509(a)2; Deductible Contributions-Section 170 of IRS Code) Home Page

Global NAGAR directory
My NAGAR new

Membership form
[Alternately use this form (in Word format) and email it to us]

World Nagar Convention - July 2008
Member login

The NAGAR committee Matrimonial Ads

Yellow Pages

Community News NAGAR activities

Points to ponder/Opinion Poll new

Photo Gallery

The Nagar community

The Nagar Community Corner

Useful links

Your feedback

Local (USA) Nagar organizations

We have received tremendous support and encouragement from all the local nagar organizations. We have listed them below. If your city or state has a nagar association and it has not been included below, please send us the details.

Nagar Mandal of Greater Chicago
Incorporated in 1998, Active since 1970
Number of members: Approx 80 Families.
Typical activities: Hosted Convention in 1998. Annual events: Patotsav, Summer Picnic, Diwali Function.

Current committee members:
  • Ratnakar Nanavaty
  • Rashmikant Mehta
  • Jyot Buch
  • Manish Pandya
(Information updated in November 2008)

Michigan Nagar Association
Active since the 1980s
Number of members: 80
Typical activities: Patotsav, Diwali Function, Picnic

Current Committee Members: Dhaval Kikani, Divyang Pandit, Dhimant Chhaya, Nishith Desai, Jwalant Lakhia, Ketan Rana

Southern California Nagar Association (SCNA)
Active since June 2004 (NPO status is awaited. Article of Incorporation received)
We have not officially enrolled the members. We are planning to do effective 1/1/05. We expect around 80 members.
Typical Activities:
2004: Patotsav, Picnic and Garba/Diwali get-together.
2005: 2 Picnics, Patotsav, Youth/ Children Camp, Camping, Tour, Garba/ Diwali get-together, Sangeet sabha.

Current Committee Members:
  • President: Yagnesh Dholakia
  • VP: Jayesh Mankad
  • Secretary: Yatin Buch
  • Treasurer: Mrs. Shefali Majmudar

Nagar Association of Texas Houston (NATH)
Formal incorporation in Aug 2002 but active for a few years before that
Typical activities: Patotsav and Diwali/Navratri functions

Current Committee Members:
  • President - Dushyant Vohra
  • Vice President - Dr. Nishit Majmundar
  • Vice President - Mrs. Anuja Mehta
  • Secretary- Mrs. Rajeshwari Antani
  • Joint-Secretary- Dr. Rupa Nanavati
  • Treasurer- Mr. Pratin Durkal
  • Joint-Treasurer- Mrs. Hetal Mehta
  • Treasurer- Mr. Lekh Nanavati
(Information updated in May 2007)

Silicon Valley Nagar Association
Formalized in 1999
About 80 families on the list
Typical activities: Patotsav, Diwali dinner and picnic. This year we arranging Ashit & Hema Desai's concert on 20th November

Current committee members
  • President - Kinjal Buch
  • Vice-President - Devang Vasavada
  • Secretary - Padmanabh Joshipura
  • Treasurer - Mayank Vaishnav
  • Other Board members - Manoj Desai, Bhavna Joshipura, Parthiv Pota, Tarang Zha, Rita Buch.

Nagar Association of North America (NONA)
Registered in New Jersey( 501)c-3 status
Covering approximately 160 families from NJ/NY/CT/PA and Delaware.
Active since 1985. Activities: Hosting Patotsav, Diwalee and Picnic every-year.
Hosted National Nagar Convention in July 2002 which was attended by more than 900 nagars from all over US, Canada and India.

Current Executives:

  • Dr.Sudhakar Kharod
  • Ambarish Kachhy
  • Pranav Mehta
  • Dr.Kirit Vasavada
  • Mrs.Sonal Desai
  • Anoop Kharode
(Information updated in June 2006)

NAGAR - Florida
National Volunteers:
  • Dr. Kshemal & Meesha Mankodi (Life Member)
  • Amita Dwivedi
  • Manish Kharod
  • Darshana Raval
  • Kiran Maharaja

NAGAR - Georgia
National Volunteers:
  • Virendra Kharod (Life Member)
  • Nitin Dave (Life Member)
  • Madhavi Jaymini Dave

Nagar Association Inc. Maryland (NAM)
Committee members for 2006-2007 are:
  • Chairman: Sunil Vasavada
  • President: Parth Mehta
  • Vice President: Paulomi Nanavaty
  • Secretary: Krushanu Majmundar
  • Treasurer: Vivek Mehta
  • Commitee Member: Pavan Nanavati
  • Commitee Member: Mansi Vasavada
  • Commitee Member: Manan Hathi
(Information updated in April 2006)